Impressive podium for José A. Suárez in Rzeszow Rally (ERC, Poland)



The high-speed Rally Rzeszow – probably the most challenging round of the 2017 FIA European Rally Championship to date – was marked by hot weather, but that didn’t prevent José Suárez from posting a polished, well-paced performance to confirm the potential of the Peugeot 208T16. Together with co-driver Cándido Carrera, he combined a cool head with good speed – including one fastest stage time in ES7 – to clinch third in the U28 class in Poland.

A roll after slipping into a ditch on the event’s opening stage brought the outing of Pepe López and Borja Rozada to a premature end. They continue to hold second place in the provisional Junior U28 standings, however, and are still in the fight for the class’s 2017 crown. Their focus is now very much on their next appearance – the Czech Republic’s Barum Rally – in two weeks’ time.


Next ERC Rally: Barum Czech Rally Zlín - 25-27/08/2017


JOSÉ SUÁREZ (Peugeot Rally Academy): 3rd, ERC JUNIOR U28 (Rally  Rzeszow) 

«I made a tyre choice error early on. It was  entirely my fault and explains why our speed wasn’t so good. We then suffered gearbox  trouble but the team did a great job and provided us with a really competitive  car for the following day. We were quickly on the pace on the last day and we even  posted a fastest stage time. We are very happy to have finished on the podium  and to have scored another good result for Peugeot Sport. It was important for our  confidence to show that we have the speed to challenge for the win. We are hoping  for an even stronger run in Barum Rally!»




1.         Griebel/Kopczyk(SKO)                     1h59m8.2s
2.         Michel/Degout(SKO)                        +49.5s
3.         SUÁREZ/CARRERA (PEU)             +1m28.4s
4.         Moffet/Fulton (FOR)                          +2m42.4s
5.         Kasperczyk/Damian (FOR)               +3m47.3s




1.         Marijan GRIEBEL                               (ALL)    99pts
2.         Pepe LÓPEZ                                      (ESP)   58 pts
3.         Sylvain MICHEL                                 (FRA)   56 pts 

4.         Josh MOFFETT                                  (IRL)     47 pts

5.         Nicolay GRYAZIN                               (LET)    43 pts
6.         JoséAntonio SUÁREZ                      (ESP)   42 pts